Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
★ 4.9 · 595 reviews
- Four days, Starts at the Km 82 trailhead
- Three nights in trail campsites
- Likely to sell out
- Free cancellation
On foot, on the old road
Five trips on this site walk the Inca Trail and finish at the Sun Gate. This Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu guide sets them side by side: where the walking starts, how many nights, what the listings say about permits and porters, and what each price covers. Trail trips start at $585 per person.

Quick answer
The short answer. If you have four days, book our top pick: the $840 classic Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu starts at Km 82, sleeps three nights in trail camps, crosses Dead Woman’s Pass on day two and reaches the Sun Gate before dawn on day four. It holds 4.9 across 595 reviews. With two days, the $585 trip walks past Wiñay Wayna, sleeps in a hotel bed and visits the citadel next morning, 4.9 from 227 reviews. Here an Inca Trail and Machu Picchu tour always ends with a guided visit inside the citadel.
Two trailheads
Km 82 is four days on foot. Km 104 is one long walking day.
On a Cusco to Machu Picchu hike, the walking does not start in the city. All five trail trips here include a pickup, and where the walking starts decides how long the Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu lasts.
The classic Inca Trail trek to Machu Picchu begins at Km 82, after a van ride and breakfast in Ollantaytambo. From there it is four days on foot.
The short trail begins at Km 104. On the $679 trip a train takes you there and you walk from 2,200 m, past Chachabamba and Wiñay Wayna at 2,650 m, to the Sun Gate at 2,720 m.
The last stretch is not a hike up to Machu Picchu from the town below: by that listing’s figures, the citadel sits at 2,430 m, under the Sun Gate. You see it first from above.
The classic route
How our top pick runs the four-day Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu, as its listing describes it.
Early hotel pickup, breakfast in Ollantaytambo, the trailhead at Km 82, the old site of Patallacta and a night at Ayapata campsite.
The listing calls this the most challenging part of the trail: Dead Woman’s Pass and Runkuraqay Pass, then the ruins of Runkuraqay and Sayacmarca. Night at Chaquicocha.
Phuyupatamarca, Intipata and Wiñay Wayna, then a farewell dinner and a last night in camp.
You rise before dawn to reach the Sun Gate, then take a guided tour inside the citadel. A 30-minute bus goes down to Aguas Calientes.
The Panoramic Vistadome train back to Ollantaytambo, then about two hours by van to your hotel, arriving in the evening.
Permits
One listing names the permit. The rest describe the trail without the word.
Permits are the first question about any Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu. Only one of the five listings uses the word. The $1,290 alternative route says «the permits are very limited» and that «the official Inca Trail to Machupicchu is included in this program», and asks you to check availability before you book. The other four describe the trail section as part of the programme but do not mention a permit, so ask on the listing before you pay.
How early to book? No listing gives a number of months for the trail itself. The $585 trip says «the booking must be done 2 weeks before the tour date», and our top pick confirms each booking by hand.
On the trail
Whichever Machu Picchu trail hike you pick, expect old stone and steep green slopes.
Grey stone houses on a narrow spur, wrapped in curved green terraces above thick forest.
Five turquoise dome tents in a line under the trees, with blue bowls and walking poles in front.
A thin grassy ledge on a steep hillside, with a river far below in a deep valley.
Porters, camps and hotel beds
Porters appear in reviews, not in the listings. Camps on four days, a hotel on two.
Porters are part of the picture of an Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu, so here is the honest version. None of the five listings names porters in what the price covers. Reviewers of our top pick do mention them. Rhian from the United Kingdom: «The 2nd day is very hard! The porters do an amazing job.» Ask what you carry yourself.
Sleeping is clearer. On the four-day Peru hike to Machu Picchu that is our top pick, you spend three nights in trail camps, Ayapata, Chaquicocha and a third camp, in tents with a dining and toilet set-up. On the two-day trips you sleep in a hotel in Aguas Calientes: a «3-star hotel» on the $679 trip and a «pleasant hotel bed» on the $585 trip.
Food: our top pick lists breakfasts, lunches and dinners on the trail, with vegetarian and vegan options; the $630 trip serves a picnic breakfast and lunch. The $585 listing says nothing about meals.
Four days or two
Both versions of the Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu end at the Sun Gate. Here is how they differ, listing by listing.
Km 82 on the four-day top pick; Km 104 on the $679 trip. If you want to hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in full, Km 82 is the start.
Three nights in camp on four days. One hotel night in Aguas Calientes on two days.
Four days: Dead Woman’s Pass on day two, and the listing asks for at least a moderate level of fitness. Two days: one long walking day.
Both enter through the Sun Gate; on four days, before dawn on the last morning.
Two days: $585, $630 or $679. Four days: $840 for the classic route.
No trip here is a 1 day hike to Machu Picchu. Day tours by train from Cusco, $308 to $349, do not walk the trail.
A different four days
Two passes off the main trail, then the last day on it.
The $1,290 Machu Picchu Inca Trail trek calls itself «this alternative Inca Trail route». It starts at Soqma at 3,205 m, climbs for three hours to Kuychicassa Pass at 4,450 m and joins the Inca Trail on day three, from Km 104 to the Sun Gate. It has one review, rated 5.0, and offers free cancellation at $1,290.
Every trail trip, current fare
The cost to hike Machu Picchu on the trail, per person, with what each listing puts in the price. A guided visit inside the citadel is in all five.
| Trip | Price | Price is for | Length | What the price covers | Where the walking starts | Refund | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 days, hotel night | $585 | per person | 2 days | Pickup, hotel bed in Aguas Calientes, 2-hour guided walk, train and car back to Cusco | Not stated | Non-refundable | 4.9 · 227 |
| 2 days, picnic on the trail | $630 | per person | 2 days | Pickup, picnic breakfast and lunch, hotel breakfast, guided tour, Vistadome train back | Not stated; the route passes Chachabamba | Non-refundable | 4.8 · 333 |
| 2 days, 3-star hotel | $679 | per person | 2 days | Pickup at 4:00 AM, train to Km 104, 3-star hotel, guided visit, Vistadome train back | Km 104, at 2,200 m | Free cancellation | 4.9 · 9 |
| 4 days, classic route, our top pick | $840 | per person | 4 days | Hotel pickup, three camp nights, trail meals, guided visit, Panoramic train and van back | Km 82 | Non-refundable | 4.9 · 595 |
| 4 days, alternative route | $1,290 | per person | 4 days | Pickup at 5:00 AM, two camp nights, one hotel night, 3-hour guided visit, train back | Soqma, at 3,205 m | Free cancellation | 5.0 · 1 |
Before you book
Five minutes on the listing make an Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu run smoothly.
Three of the five trail trips are non-refundable, our top pick and the $585 trip among them.
Our top pick and the $630 trip ask for passport details when you book.
One listing, the $679 trip, notes that the Inca Trail closes in February for maintenance.
The $585 trip is guided in English only. The other four list English and Spanish.
The $630 listing suggests light hiking boots, a daypack with 2 litres of water, hiking trousers, a change of clothes, rain gear and a warm layer.
Our verdict
Book our top pick at $840 if you have four days and want the full Machu Picchu Inca Trail tour: Km 82, two passes, three nights in camp and the Sun Gate before dawn, with 595 reviews at 4.9. With two days, take the $585 trip, 4.9 from 227 reviews, for the lowest price on the trail. If you need to keep your plans open, the $679 trip offers free cancellation and starts at Km 104, rated 4.9 by 9 reviewers. Each Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu here ends at the Sun Gate.
Book direct
The classic four days, and three ways to walk the short trail in two. All prices are per person.
★ 4.9 · 595 reviews
★ 4.9 · 227 reviews
★ 4.8 · 333 reviews
★ 4.9 · 9 reviews
Common questions
No listing here gives a number of months for the trail. The $585 trip says the booking must be done two weeks before the tour date. The $1,290 route says permits are very limited and asks you to check availability first.
Only one listing says so: the $1,290 alternative route states that the official Inca Trail is included in its program. The other four do not mention a permit, so ask on the listing before you pay.
The classic route starts at Km 82: four days, three nights in camp, Dead Woman’s Pass on day two; our top pick costs $840. The short trail is one walking day past Wiñay Wayna and a hotel night in Aguas Calientes, for $585 to $679.
Yes. The $679 trip checks you into a 3-star hotel in Aguas Calientes, and the $585 trip promises a pleasant hotel bed. The $630 trip serves breakfast at your hotel on the second morning.
One listing says so: the $679 trip runs year-round except in February, when the Inca Trail is closed for maintenance. The other four listings do not mention February.
On two trail trips: the $679 trip and the $1,290 alternative route offer free cancellation. Our top pick, the $585 trip and the $630 trip are non-refundable.
Your options
No trip here is a hike from Cusco to Machu Picchu on foot all the way; each includes a pickup first. After that, an Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu is four days from Km 82 or one walking day on the short trail. If the full route fits your dates, book our top pick early.
Go deeper
The full trail with three nights in camp.
Two daysThe short trail: one walking day, one night, the citadel next morning.
What it costsWhat each price includes — permit, train, entry, meals, nights — and what it leaves out.
Which one to pickChoosing by days, budget, fitness and the train you want.